Goodbye Walls – Hello World

For four years I’ve maintained my teaching e-portfolio in closed communities. I’ve protected my reflections by only letting colleagues at my current school see what I was thinking. I suspect no one read one post.

The shift in my thinking this year is that I want to go public. I want to participate in online communities as I develop my teaching practice. By embracing this world, I want to publicise my successes, my failures and my journey. This blog is the first step in that journey. I aim to continue writing reflections and using – what I find to be – the cathartic process of writing about what is going on in my classrooms.

I can’t promise to do this a lot. My first year of blogging my practice resulted in a post per week. The second year, was more fortnightly, and I’ve maintained that average. Hopefully this blog will help me create a self-portrait of me as a teacher and act to highlight the passion I have for teaching.

Leave a Reply

