Wait Time

Wait time is a integral element of classroom teaching; a fundamental aspect I often end up guiding student teachers through. I believe I am strong at waiting for adequate silence and focus being continuing with my own instructions. In the Drama classroom I think I do well with ensuring I wait for 12 seconds of silence before taking hands up or picking some random responses. I also get students to spin around when they have an answer and wait for the whole class to turn before seeking responses. The literature tells us that increasing wait time encourages more thoughtful responses to the questions asked.

The challenge then is to not only use wait time after a question, but all wait time after hearing a question answered. This is an interesting development, offering the opportunity for a student to extend their answer without verbal prompting. I’m looking forward to trying to add this to my practice.

Leave a Reply

